Resolutions, Refractions, Reflection…

31 Dec

I was reading through my journal tonight in an attempt to relive my year, laud myself and highlight my mistakes. It was indeed an extraordinary year. My mind traveled back to 2008’s eve night; I was all packed- a little less exited as I should have been boarding a flight to England en-route Barbados to begin another marathon of education. I envisioned an unusually excellent year ahead; hopes were high. The first few weeks were predictable: festivities eclipsing actuality, and I seemed to be in high spirits. I had my year all mapped out, and I was determined to follow through on my long list of resolutions- all of which I’ve quite forgotten.

 Flipping forward to the last page where I had written my resolutions, I wasn’t the least surprised to find out that none of them had been followed through. At that time, I had lost interest in my reading. A silent air of shame stirred questions in my mind: why do we make resolutions- mostly recommendable ones- when statistics and antecedents tells us it’s probably the most illogical ritual of self- deception? Is the momentary feel of accountability to an obligation worth the rather inevitable subsequent sense of self disregard and regret? Why does the basic idea of Antecedents, Behavior, and Consequences in Psychology fail in this respect? And why do the several theories of motivation- where targets are meant to positively influence performance- ignore New Year resolutions? I recall that preceding years haven’t been any different!  

 I won’t try to answer those questions- it’s pointless- rather, I’ve decided to capitalize on the trend. I’ll resolve not to make any resolutions this year; then, whatever achievements I claim in the New Year would indeed be achievements; not a feat to be assessed against some list of ‘impossible’ commitments at year end, and at the same time ensuring than never again would I question my- and everyone else’s- goal attainment capacity year in year out. Overcoming hypocrisy and self deceit is a good start towards guarding yourself from being deceived by others.

5 Responses to “Resolutions, Refractions, Reflection…”

  1. gozific January 1, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    True resolutions are not the way. But its better to set realistic targets for oneself. This will help you maintain focus for the year and appraise yourself.

  2. Fiyin January 2, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    very nice. resolutions should not be habits but set goals to achieve. habits cannot be started or stopped in a day by sheer resolve, but goals can be pursued and achieved through will power.

    • Samuel Ogunbiyi January 2, 2009 at 2:39 am #

      perfectly condensed.

  3. Steve Araba January 2, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    The truth is… the future we seek is in our hands right now… we can make resolutions, only we need to commit to those resolutions in bits and pieces. If you want a 1000 dollars in 100 days, all we nned to commit to is just making 10 dollars a day… as long as you can take care the 10 dollars a day, then the 1000 dollars will take care of itself.
    It’s not that difficult…

  4. Tosinger March 6, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    The accomplishment of a complex matter starts with a day to day breakdown into smaller achieveable and seemingly effortless pieces.
    Focus on the smaller ‘achievables’ and the ‘unachievables’ will hitherto become easier to fulfil.Good Write Up.

Leave a Reply

